The Literary Review (TLR) publishes the best new fiction, poetry, and prose from a broad community of international writers and translators, both emerging and established, whose commonality is literary quality and an urgency of voice and artistic conviction. Our editorial standard is to read with an open, discerning mind, and to publish carefully and vigorously. This genuine community of readers, writers, and publishers is what distinguishes us and defines how we connect our writers to readers and to each other.

TLR has been published since 1957 by Fairleigh Dickinson University.


The Literary ReviewTLR Share is a curated section of our website dedicated to the reinforcement of our literary community. Through weekly features of stories, poems, or lyric prose published in other small magazines, the TLR Share Editors endeavor to extend the life and reach of individual literary publications, by republishing selected works in full. Browse some recent TLR Shares.



Minna Zallman Proctor, Editor

Craig Morgan Teicher and Michael Morse, Poetry Editors

Fairleigh Dickinson University

Justin Taylor, Fiction Editor

Kate Munning, Managing Editor

Louise Dell-Bene Stahl, Editorial Coordinator

Jessie Vail Aufiery and Heather Lang-Cassera, World Literature Editors

Hayden Bergman, Books Editor

Lisa Grgas, Supervising Editor

Nina Ball-Pesut, P. Joshua Lasky, Ryan Romine, Tim Waldron, Associate Editors

Mellisa Bowers, Melissa Cabrera, Josette Huber, Assistant Editors

Janet Steen, Copyeditor

Renée Ashley and René Steinke, Editors-at-Large

Walter Cummins, Editor Emeritus

Editorial BoardDavid Grand, Jody Handerson, Thomas E. Kennedy, Michael Miller, Martin Riker, Jena Salon, Sudeep Sen, Brenda Shaughnessy, Carmen Gimenez Smith, Christopher Sorrentino, Illan Stavans, Jennifer Werner, Joanna Yas

Half and Half Studio, Print Design

Bud Parr, Sonnet Media, TLR Website Design

Editorial Board Emeritus: John E. Becker, H.E. Francis, Martin Green, Harry Keyishian, Marjorie Deiter Keyishian, Charles Simic, William Zander

Founders: Charles Angoff, Clarence Decker, Peter Sammartino

Readers: Aminah Abutayeb, Josie Adams, Gloria Beth Amodeo, Leigh Becker, Abigail Belcastro, Chloe Biggs, Ashley Bradbury, Joseph Brockway, Natalie Cannon, Flower Conroy, Michael Dalelio, Ceyda Demirbulakli, Richard Datzko, Katherine Fabian, Anne Greeott, William Kapp, Russell Karrick, Isabel Mader, Briana McDonald, Chad Meadows, Mercel Meyers, May Nasr, Lauren Ploger, Cassie Pruyn, Colleen Quinn, Gwen Shapiro, Tyler Williams, Paul-Victor Winters, Anne Harding Woodworth

The Literary Review has been published since 1957 by Fairleigh Dickinson University.

285 Madison Avenue
Madison, NJ 07940